NaNoWriMo

2 Nov

It’s day two of NaNoWriMo, the November challenge to write a novel of 50,000 words or 175 pages in only one month (www.nanowrimo.org). The emphasis is on  quantity rather than quality, in order to get writers and would-be writers to work on that novel they’ve been putting off. After the month of November is over, you can go back over the manuscript and revise as much as you want.

My brother informed me via Facebook that he registered for NaNoWriMo and asked me if I’m doing it this year. I’m very glad that he’s
finally working on a novel rather than just world building and character building. I also decided to take up the challenge, but with a little artistic
license: since I have a January 5 due date for a long story to submit to Wormhole Electric (www.wormholeelectric.com), I should work on two or three long stories rather than one novel. So that’s what I’m doing. I have about thirty pages so far, 145 to go. Who knows, at the rate that
one of these long stories is going, it might end up being a novel.

Leave a Reply

