Two Drastically Different Dreams in One Night

10 Jul

I just had a dream in which I was at my parents’ house, but neither of them were there, and a few other people were there: my brother and at least three adults I’d never met before. At least one of these people had been making a lot of cake, including chocolate chip cupcakes and chocolate cupcakes, so I was nibbling happily. I went into the kitchen, where a tall and skinny man was setting out cupcakes. I grabbed a chocolate chip cupcake before I noticed cupcakes that were completely chocolate; the man said something to me, something to do with the making of all these bakery items. I was in a reading mood. I went into the laundry room and came across, sitting on top of the washer, a large book that lay wide open and, oddly, inside it were comments written in my handwriting. I came to the conclusion that my brother was in the process of reading this book, and that I had either given or lent it to him. It was a collection of classical plays; I flipped it over to see the title, but now that I’m awake I’ve forgotten what it was. I went back into the kitchen, where many cupcakes and some leftover chocolate cake were on display (particularly on the table). I picked up a book there, a collection of various short writings by Virginia Woolf, a book that I had previously read when I was much younger (well, in the reality of this dream). The book was illustrated, including with stylized images of owls. It contained prose poetry, essays, and short stories, and maybe bits of memoir. I opened it and started turning pages; I didn’t feel like reading a poem at the beginning of the book and kept turning pages—oddly after the poem was a second contents page for short prose, and one of the sections had to do with religion, so I skipped that section and went to another.

Earlier, perhaps right before waking up this morning, I had a dream in which I was out hiking, as were numerous other people. We had started out as one big group (and I had a trail map), and we ended up breaking into smaller groups. A guy I knew (in the reality of the dream) had gotten lost while hiking in some woods, which were a dark section on my map. I decided I would go search for him, but oddly it didn’t occur to me to go with others; I started heading out there by myself, fully aware I could get lost and/or die on this hike.

Leave a Reply

