Centurylink Continues to Harass Me

4 Sep

Months ago I thought I resolved the situation with that evil company, Centurylink. Unfortunately, I went through my mail and discovered that the scam artists have actually sicced bill collectors on me. Back in March, I thought for certain my letter, detailing everything that happened, would convince the scam artists to leave me alone and admit that they’re wrong and that their behavior is overtly inappropriate. But no, indeed, they probably destroyed my letter rather than finally take me seriously and admit that they’re wrong. Until I received the letter from the bill collector, I was willing to give Centurylink the benefit of the doubt; in other words, I was willing to believe that Centurylink is the most incompetent company in the galaxy, rather than scam artists.

 

The following is the letter I sent the bill collectors:

 

Southwest Credit

4120 International Parkway, Suite 1100

Carrollton, TX 75007-1958

 

Dear Southwest Credit,

 

I DO NOT OWE CENTURYLINK A CENT. I just received a letter from you proving that Centurylink is STILL attempting to scam me. They are trying to charge me for restarting my internet service, even though  I made it quite clear that I was ENDING MY ACCOUNT, NOT RESTARTING MY SERVICE. The last representative over the phone actually claimed that Centurylink would send me a check, not a bill. This scamming behavior is disgusting and outrageous.

 

Below is the last correspondence I had with Centurylink:

 

5/16/13

 

I am wasting a stamp since Qwest-is-now-Centurylink has proved that no matter how many times I call, you continue to pretend that I owe you money.

 

Centurylink disconnected my service on March 26, at about the same time that I went through a pile of snail mail and found a bill for $107. I promptly paid the bill right before the service was disconnected.

 

On April 5, I opened another bill from Centurylink, this time claiming that I owed $40. I paid that immediately. Afterwards, I kept checking my Internet on my laptop computer, and every time I did this I saw a message on my screen in which Centurylink claimed I hadn’t paid my bills. This is a false accusation. For three weeks, I repeatedly made futile attempts to log onto the Internet, every time seeing a message that I couldn’t use the Internet because I hadn’t paid my bills, even though my bills were completely paid off as of April 5. This went on till April 23, when I finally called up (on my smart phone, the only phone I have used since December) and ended my Centurylink account.

 

Long after my account was completely paid off (on April 5), Centurylinkstill refused to reconnect my service.

 

On the same day that I ended my account (4/23), I received another envelope from Centurylink. For obvious reasons, I didn’t feel inclined to open it. Two days later, I opened it: a bill for $35, for Internet service I never had.Centurylink disconnected my service, refused to reconnect it, and kept pretending as if I hadn’t paid; afterwards you pretended I had Internet service that entire time, and you even billed me for Internet service I never had.Every attempt I made to log onto the Internet proved futile: I have had no Internet service from Centurylink since March 26.

 

I called Centurylink yet again, two days after I called and made it quite clear that I don’t owe anything and that I’m closing the account. I discovered that the account was still “live” and that it claimed I owe $35: another false accusation. While the customer service representative was on the phone with me, she put me on hold to go check something…and the phone hung up while I waited.

 

During a second call, I thought I finally resolved everything. I spoke with a different representative, one whoseemed to promptly take care of it. He claimed that the records really will show that I no longer have an account and do not owe $35. He furthermore claimed that I should disregard the last bill and that I shall receive a credit in the mail.

 

Going through another stack of mail, I just opened not a credit, but in fact a completely inexplicable bill from Centurylink. Now you’re pretending as if I paid a portion of the $35 that I “owed” for nonexistent service, and you’re pretending I owe twenty-five dollars. I don’t owe Qwest-is-now-Centurylink any money whatsoever, and I would not be in the least surprised if in fact you owe me money.

 

Cordially,

Susan E. Wiget

Leave a Reply

