NaNoWriMo!

1 Nov

Today is the beginning of NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month. The goal is to write 50,000 words or 175 pages between November 1 and November 31.

http://nanowrimo.org

I have reached the goal in the past couple of years. Oddly, in 2011 I intended to write a fantasy novel set in Tibet, and the title, synopsis, and excerpt for that novel, Living Dakini, is still up on my account at the NaNo website. However, I started writing a heroic journey fantasy novel at the same time, and I got so wrapped up in that project that I focused almost entirely on it during that November. So that actually ended up being my NaNo novel. That reminds me, I really need to get back to writing that Tibetan story….

The first time I participated in NaNo was in 2003, when I didn’t really know how to write a novel and wasn’t truly prepared. I incorporated autobiographical stuff, including a car accident I experienced in 2001, and I fantasized about some world travel, including visiting Tibet (since this was shortly after I became obsessed with Tibet, which I really did visit in 2008) and perhaps Ireland (which I really did visit in 2005). The manuscript did exceed 50,000 words, but it probably didn’t have a strong plot. I have yet to go back over it.

Leave a Reply

