Gradual Progress on Sundry Books

12 Apr

For my travel memoir Every Day is Magical: A Buddhist Pilgrimage in India and Tibet, I’ve completed the eBook interior and cover in InDesign. It’s a matter of figuring out how to upload it onto Create Space, Amazon.com’s self-publishing page. Technology tends to confuse me.

I’ve been revising a novella that started as a short story I wrote as a teen. The working title is A Stranger at Home, and it’s a ghost story. After going over the entire manuscript and making some changes, I’ve gotten to work on the character charts. It’s weird that it’s gotten this far along while I’ve scarcely done any character chart work. After I’ve completed those, hopefully the manuscript will blossom. I’m also thinking of self-publishing it as an eBook, not only because of the state of the publishing industry but also because paranormal fiction is so popular now.

Now that I’m in a novel critique group, I’ve received feedback on my magical realism novel The Skeleton from the Closet for the first time ever. Although the feedback was respectful and constructive, it’s been rather painful. The novel is autobiographical, about a time in my life that I don’t enjoy revisiting.

I’ve completed the first volume in the middle grade Rowanwick Witches series and have started contacting agents. I’ve also resumed writing the second book in the series (I have a complete first draft for the third book, which was originally going to be the second book). However, I’ve been distracted by other writing projects.

Leave a Reply

