NaNoWriMo Progress

12 Nov

That moment when you’re obsessively streaming Bates Motel on Netflix and realize your fascination with it is probably because the Bates remind you of your family.

Well, at least my relatives have given me plenty of material for writing! And neither I nor my siblings have become psychotic.

On that note, I’m almost at the 25,000 word marker for National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). I’m at 24,610 words. Just about four hundred more, and I’ll reach the goal. I intend to do that today, despite all distractions (including Netflix).

The catch that I noticed last year is that the word count on Microsoft Word is greater than the word count on the NaNoWriMo site. So if I were to upload my manuscript on that site, I shall probably discover that NaNoWriMo doesn’t consider it 25,000 words yet. At least, this happened to many people last November. Apparently it’s because Word counts every little word, including “a” and “the” and may count hyphenated words as multiple words.

Leave a Reply

