The Return of the Missing Cool Cat

2 Jan

Gabriel was missing for five days. I actually cried on New Year’s Day, hardly a celebratory occasion with this fear that Gabriel would never return and might be dead.

But I just found him! I was collecting branches in the yard, and there he was on the front porch, eating food I left out for strays. I picked him up and carried him inside. He ate heartily. Now he’s purring in my lap; errands and projects can wait.

The temperature is in the thirties, so I’m going to try keeping all the cats inside as long as I can. Gabriel is the only one who was a stray for about a year before I adopted him. The youngest, Virginia and Vita, were four months old when I adopted them, but they were already accustomed to spending a lot of time outdoors. I kept them in for the first couple months…until Virginia started howling at the door.

Leave a Reply

