Updating

28 Oct

I have’t been posting on this blog lately because the last time I came to the WordPress site, it behaved as though I didn’t already have a blog. I therefore posted on my old blogspot page instead: http://susanewigget.blogspot.com/2012/10/talking-cats.html

My latest edited discussion group notes are on the In Othe Words blog! http://inotherwordsbooks.wordpress.com/2012/10/28/notes-from-the-portland-feminist-meetup-october-edition/ Unlike in the notes I shared, the blog version has cool internet-savvy stuff like links and images. Last month’s notes also turned up on the blog like this; I never noticed it before then.

Whoa. Beware of deranged Facebook pages that at first glance look like feminist pages and turn out to be wrong-wing weirdos. Ew. I just came across a couple, one ironically calling itself “The Real Feminist.” It reminds me of when I’ve stumbled upon (or read a book review about) books along those lines, that attempt to lure readers in by putting on a feminist facade…but when I read the cover copy I realize it’s quite the opposite. Power-tripping white males trapped in women’s bodies (PTWMTIWB), such as Phyllis Schlafly and Ann Coulter, are not feminists, believe me.

Leave a comment